5242013202059Winter has well and truly arrived. I’ve spent the last 5 days sick and in bed for the most part. Growing up in W.A I rarely ever got sick (even when I wanted to, to get out of school) but since moving back to South Australia and more so this town, I get sick 2-3 times a year. So while my body has crashed and decided it needs a nice long break, I’ve caught up on my sleep, done a lot of thought on things I don’t particularly want to think about (but know I need to) and dealt with and addressed a few things I’ve been feeling but putting off sorting through for a few months. I also started Hannibal (the TV series) and became hooked, and then finished it in 2 days, so now I’ll be impatiently awaiting the second season (next year). So for being sick and unable to work, finishing off the entire first season of Hannibal was as productive as my week got.

524201320229The weather has been cold and miserable for the most part so it’s been scarf weather! Putting my $40 scarf (General Pants Co.) to good use. Winter is my favourite season for the clothing options alone. Knits and boots are what makes up most of my wardrobe anyway. I’ve been really into oversized jumpers and sweater dresses this Autumn and Winter and the collection in my wardrobe has just grown. I think I’ve been shopping when I’ve been lonely and cold, thus resulting in my wardrobe being full of oversized jumpers and leggings (not that I’m complaining).

I finally found a new pair of boots, after searching for a good 4-5 months! My goal in 5122013132227Adelaide (both trips, March and April) was to find a good pair of boots because my others are on their way out, but I never found a pair I was in love with or liked enough. But I finally found a pair and they’re a fraction of the price of others I looked at! I love fashion wins. Forever being fashionably influenced byΒ LightsΒ in the sense that I wear boots with almostΒ everything.

524201312336 (Cold winter mornings forever making it hard to get out of bed for anything other than warm tea and toast.)

I saw a lot of quotes on tumblr today from a book called It’s Called A Break-Up Because It’s Broken and a lot of what I saw really resonated with me. I ended up ordering the book in hopes it will help me see things differently since Lauren and I’s break up because I still struggle with it sometimes. I can’t really pinpoint what I’m struggling with though so that’s frustrating. These are the quotes I found on tumblr that encouraged me to buy the book:

“Starting today, you’re not the kind of woman who settles for broken or hangs onto damaged goods, be it a radio, a pair of shoes, or a relationship. Your life is not a yard sale. It’s time to get rid of all the broken stuff that you’ve been lugging around for days, months, or maybe even years.”

“I don’t know” means “No!”
“I don’t know” means “I’m too cowardly to tell you the truth because I can’t deal with confrontation.”
“I don’t know” means “Please do the dirty work for me because I don’t want to hurt your feelings more than I already have.”

It’s Called A Break-Up Because It’s Broken

I never wanted to be the person who resorted to self help books (especially when I’m so young in my life) but I think it will be a good read and if nothing else, it will remind me I did the right thing for myself and my happiness, and sometimes I need that reminder.

Leave a Reply

